Default Theme
अखिल भारतीय आयुर्विज्ञान संस्थान, नई दिल्ली
All India Institute Of Medical Sciences, New Delhi

Prof T P Singh

Prof. T. P. Singh

Designation INSA Senior Scientist
Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Contact Number +91-11-26588931, +91-11-26593201
Research Interests Structural Biology ; Biological Crystallography, Protein Structure Determination and Peptide Design ; Rational Structure Based Drug Design
Awards and Honors Fellowships of Academies / Societies Fellow of the Third World Academy of Sciences :  F.T.W.A.S.
Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy : F.N.A
Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences : F.N.A.Sc.
Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences : F.A.Sc.
Fellow of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation : F.AvH.F.
Fellow of the Biotech Research Society of India:  F.B.R.S. 
  Awards and Honors
Distinguished Professorship of the University of Mysore - Feb 2014
Distinguished Lecture Award of the A.P. Science Congress - November 2013
Professor D.M. Bose Memorial Award  of the Bose Institute, Kolkata - 2013         
Thathachari Memorial Science Award for Science and Technology (2012)
Convener of the INSA Sectional Committee -10  - August 2013
President of the Indian Biophysical Society - Feb 2014
Jawaharlal Nehru Birth Centenary Lecture Award of INSA (2011)
Annual Award of the Instrumentation Society of India (2011)
Doctor of Science, D.Sc. (h.c.) conferred by Karnataka State Open University, Mysore (2010)
CSIR Foundation Day Lecture award (2010)
Goyal Prize in Life Sciences (2007)
Professor G.N. Ramachandran CSIR Gold Medal for Excellence in Biological Sciences and Technology (2006)
Professor G.N. Ramachandran 60th Birthday Commemoration INSA Medal (2006)
Sir J. C. Bose Memorial Award of the Indian Sciences -  Congress (2006)
K.K. Foundation award for Science and Technology (2001)
Canadian Development  agency Award   (1991)
Humboldt - Foundation Award (1990)  
Danish International Development Agency Award (1978)
First Rank in M.Sc. in the University of Allahabad (1971)
  Member of Governing / Research Councils
Member of International Journal of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (2011-present)
Chief Editor of the Proceedings on Indial National Science Academy, New Delhi (2011-2013)
Member of the editorial board of the Indian Journal of Biochemistry and Biophysics (2001-2003) and (2004-2006)
Member of the editorial board of the International Journal : Physiology and Molecular Biology of Plants (2000-present)
Member of the editorial board of the Indian Journal of Physics (1997-present)
Member of the Editorial Board of the World Journal of Biological Chemistry (2009-present)
Recent Significant Publications




















Rastogi, N., Singh. A., Pandey, S.N., Sinha, M.,  Bhushan, A., Kaur, P.  &  Singh, T.P. (2014). Structure if the iron-free true C-terminal half of bovine lactoferrin produced by tryptic digestion and its functional significance in the gut. FEBS J. 281 : 2871-2872.
Kaushik, S., Singh, N., Yamini, S., Singh, A., Sinha, M., Arora, A., Kaur, P., Sharma, S. & Singh, T.P. (2013). The Mode of Inhibitor Binding to Peptidyl-tRNA Hydrolase: Binding Studies and Structure Determination of Unbound and Bound Peptidyl-tRNA Hydrolase from Acinetobacter baumannii. PLoS One. 8, e67547.
Kushwaha, G.S., Pandey, N., Sinha, M, Kaur, P., Sharma, S. & Singh,, T.P. (2012) Crystal structures of a type-1 ribosome inactivating protein from Momordica balsamina in the bound and unbound states.Biochim Biophys Acta. 1824 :679-691.
Sharma, P.,  Dube, D.,  Sinha, M.,  Mishra, B.,  Dey, S.,  Mal, G.,  Pathak, K.M.L.,  Kar, P., Sharma, S.  &  Singh, T.P. (2011). Multi-ligand specificity of pathogen associated molecular-binding site in  peptidoglycan recognition protein. J. Biol. Chem. 286 : 31723-31730 
Sharma, P., Dube, D., Singh, A., Mishra, B., Singh, N., Sinha, M., Dey, S., Kaur, P., Mitra, D.K., Sharma, S. & Singh, T.P. (2011). Structural basis of recognition of pathogen-associated molecular patterns and inhibition of pro-inflammatory cytokines by camel peptidoglycan recognition protein. J. Biol Chem. 286 : 16208-16217.
Singh, A.K., Kumar, R.P., Pandey, N.,  Singh, N., Sinha, M.,  Bhushan, A.,Kaur, P.,  Sharma, S.   &  Singh, T.P. (2009). Mode of binding of the tuberculosis prodrug isoniazid to peroxidases: Crystal structure of bovine lactoperoxidase with isoniazid at 2.7A resolution.  J. Biol. Chem. 285, 1569-1576 
Mir, R., Singh, N., Vikram, G., Kumar, R.P., Sinha, M., Bhushan, A., Kaur, P., Srinivasan, A., Sharma, S. & Singh, T.P. (2009). Structural basis of the prevention  NSAID-induced damage of the gastrointestinal tract by C-terminal half (C-lobe)of bovine colostrums protein lactoferrin: Binding andstructural studies of the C-lobe complexes with indomethacin, diclofenac, aspirin and ibuprofen. Biophys. J. 97, 3178-3186
Singh, A.K., Singh, N., Sinha, M., Bhushan, A., Kaur, P.,  Srinivasan, A., Sharma, S. & Singh, T.P. (2009). Binding modes of aromatic ligands to mammalian heme peroxidases with associated functional implications : Crystal structures of lactoperoxidase complexes with acetylsalicylic acid, salicylhydroxamic acid and benzylhydroxamic acid.J. Biol. Chem. 284, 20311-20318.
Sheikh, I.A., Singh, A.K.,  Singh, N., Sinha, M., Singh, S.B., Bhushan, A., Kaur, P., Srinivasan, A., Sharma, S. & Singh, T.P. (2009). Structural evidence of substrate specificity in mammalian peroxidases: Structure of the thiocyanate complex with lactoperoxidase and its interactions at 2.4A resolution.  J. Biol. Chem. 284, 14849-14856.
Singh, A.K., Singh, N., Sharma, S., Shin, K., Takase, M., Kaur, P., Srinivasan, A. &  Singh, T.P. (2009). Inhibition of lactoperoxidase by its own catalytic product: Crystal structure of the hypothiocyanate-inhibited bovine lactoperoxidase at 2.3A resolution.  Biophys. J. 96, 646-654. 

Contact Us

All India Institute of Medical Sciences

Ansari Nagar, New Delhi - 110029

Board Number : +91-11-26588500 / 26588700

Fax : +91-11-26588663 / 26588641

AIIMS Exam Section Helpline numbers ( Click Here)

Important E-mail Addresses at AIIMS

Top of Page